Conservative Liberal

FDR would have been a Republican today.

My lonely Protest Warrior action – scroll down for updates

This Saturday I got a call from one of my friends from our local San Diego chapter of Protest Warrior.  He told me about the impending so called “anti-war” demonstration on President’s Day.  I prefer calling it anti-victory demonstration, but that is besides the point.

Jeeni Criscenzo, former candidate for Congress, has organized a protest called “Bring their buddies home“.  The leftists dress in black and stand along a road, with names of US soldiers killed in Iraq pinned to their chests.  They call it “An Act of Art”.  San Diego chapter of Protest Warrior decided to stage a little counter-protest.  This morning I went to the corner on Tamarack and Carlsbad Blvd. and started passing little 4″x6″ American Flags.  You know, a general expectation is that a stereotypical leftist would hate to hold an American Flag.  As it turns out, it is not always the case.  In the beginning the leftists just thought that the flags were part of the whole thing, although a couple did refuse to take them outright.  After I passed around about a dozen or so flags, Jeeni Criscenzo confronted me.  She said that the flags are not part of the demonstration and asked me “to respect her artwork, because the flags are spoiling it” ( I am paraphrasing).  My argument that the flags add something good to her message did not persuade her.  She was polite and got me to say “OK”.  After thinking a bit about what to do next, I just started walking with a bunch of flags in my hand in front of the protesters and giving them to those who asked.  Pretty soon I gave away all my flags (about 50).  Many protesters wanted to take the flags, but could not because they were too cold or covered with plastic because of the rain.  Some of the protesters refused to take the flags, especially after hearing me explain to KUSI that I represented an opposing point of view.  But many were happy to take the flags.  They were obviously more patriotic than the organizers of the demonstration.  I also talked to FOX6 News.  The KUSI reporter at least seemed neutral, but the FOX6 guy was likely biased in favor of the anti-victory people.  I told him that you can’t cut reinforcements from the troops in battle.  I also told them both that I was originally from the former Soviet Union, and I appreciate this country very much, because I have something to compare it to.  The FOX6 guy asked me what I thought about WMD not found in Iraq, and I said that Saddam did have them.  So, the anti-victory people started shouting: “Where are they?!”, to which I replied that that was a good question that needs to be answered, but Saddam did have them because he did use them.  Later I called Roger Hedgecock and told him about my morning because I did not trust the TV news to accurately report on my actions there.  Let’s see what part of my 2 interviews will make a cut.

 

UPDATE at 6:25pm:

The 6 o’clock edition of KUSI news did not show my interview at all.  They did show me passing flags and people holding my flags, but it made it look like they were the ones who came up with flags.  I don’t want them to hide their defeatist message behind my flags, so I am very disappointed at this time.  Let’s see what happens at 10pm.

 

UPDATE on 2/20/07 at 11:25pm:

KUSI news at 10pm did not show the demonstration at all.  The 11pm edition was the same as the 6pm edition.  However, FOX6 News did show me passing the flags around and even a small portion of my interview.  Here it is.

Additionally, my fellow Protest Warriors pointed out to me one crucial detail that I told them over the phone, but forgot to mention in this post.  As I was returning back to my car, I passed by the people whom I gave the flags before Jeeni Criscenzo confronted me.  They did not have the flags any longer.  Jeeni must have taken the flags away from them or just told them to put the flags away.  After all, she could not allow American Flags to “spoil her artwork”.  Besides, the flags would represent a dissent from her plan, and the Left can’t tolerate that.

February 19, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. Way to go Eric.

    If the protesters really want to know where the WMD are they should ask the Kurds.

    Comment by Freedom Now | February 21, 2007 | Reply

  2. Excellent work! American flags are only included in leftist “artwork” when they’re on fire, hung upside down or displayed in some similarly degrading manner.

    Comment by Terrence | February 21, 2007 | Reply

  3. […] out small American flags at an anti-war demonstration in Carlsbad. Says Odessik in his blog, Liberal Conservative: Jeeni Criscenzo, former candidate for Congress, has organized a protest called “Bring their […]

    Pingback by Go Pundit Go » Blog Archive » San Diego Counter Protestor Ruins Leftist's "Artwork" | February 21, 2007 | Reply

  4. Good on you! Thanks to you and the other PW’s in that area.

    Comment by checksix | February 22, 2007 | Reply

  5. Eric, read this on another blog. Just wanted to drop in to let you know that you earned my deepest respect for what you stand for and what you did. I think I’ll drop in more often to see more of your viewpoints and stories.

    Thanks for sticking up for us all, even if it seems an uphill battle most of the time.

    Comment by MidnightSun | February 22, 2007 | Reply

  6. Hi Eric, this coment is from your Canadian cousin. Can you please define for us what the vicory in Iraq is . The original objective that democratic Iraq will be USA`s allie in the global war on terror is no longer realistic. The reason many american people are supporting the withdrawal of troops from Iraq is in my humble opinion, the failure of the current administration to clearly define the goals for the war in Iraq. I believe that it is absolutely crucial that USA remain in Iraq to keep Iran from moving in, but in this case there will be no victory i.e. the war is over lets bring our soldiers home.

    Comment by Svetlana Pimentel | February 25, 2007 | Reply

  7. […] is Victory? My Canadian cousin left a comment on my post about my lonely Protest Warrior action.  While she agrees with the notion that our forces have to stay in Iraq because Iraq cannot be […]

    Pingback by What is Victory? « Conservative Liberal | March 11, 2007 | Reply

  8. Svetlana said,

    “The original objective that democratic Iraq will be the US’s ally in the global war on terror is no longer realistic”

    …The democratically elected Iraqi government is already our ally in the war on terror. Every day Iraqi troops fight side by side with American troops.

    You may be in a hurry to abandon Iraq so they can be destroyed by the insurgents, but are you truly aware of our real strategy?

    We do not seek outright victory ourselves. We train the Iraqis to handle their own security and pull out slowly until they can handle themselves.

    This is a realistic goal and has already worked in many theatres. Three Iraqi provinces (in addition to the Kurdish provinces) have been handed over to the Iraqis. Former terrorist strongholds like Tikrit (the birthplace of Saddam Hussein) have been mostly handed over. The Iraqi government gets stronger every day, but it is easy for terrorists to attack civilians in mosques, restaurants, barber shops, etc…

    The truth is not found in sensational attacks against unarmed civilians.

    Comment by Freedom Now | April 11, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment