Conservative Liberal

FDR would have been a Republican today.

Obama’s speech to schoolkids

Tomorrow the President is giving his speech to American schoolchildren.  There has been some controversy: some people are worried that some leftist agenda will be pushed.  My younger daughter is in kindergarten, and her teacher wisely decided that the kids in her class are simply too young for this.  I like my younger daughter’s teacher: she has some common sense.

My older daughter is in 3rd grade.  I e-mailed her teacher, asking for his plans regarding the speech, but he hasn’t replied yet.  I have to say, I am disappointed by this lack of reply.  But the speech itself is available on line.  So, go read it, especially if you have kids in school.  Having read it, I have to say that the speech itself does not concern me.  It is simply an admonishment to do well in school.  The teacher’s presentation might still get screwed up and tilted toward some leftist agenda, but one can hardly blame Obama for that.  So, read the speech.  Since Obama likes using a teleprompter, he is unlikely to deviate from the speech, as it is written.  And I doubt there is a second version to be presented, insidiously created to fool the parents.  So, there is no reason to worry about the speech itself.  Just look out for the teacher’s presentation and make sure your kids are prepared for it.

Powered by Qumana

September 7, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | 1 Comment