Conservative Liberal

FDR would have been a Republican today.

It’s about time

What Israel is now doing regarding the rocket attacks by Hamas from Gaza should have been done a couple of years ago, right after the Israeli civilians were removed from Gaza and the first rockets started raining down on Sderot.  But it is better late than never.  Here is the primer explaining what is happening and why:

Defending Israeli citizens from terrorist fire

  • A quarter of a million Israeli citizens have been living under incessant terror attacks from the Gaza Strip with thousands of missiles fired over the past eight years.

  • These missiles have been described as "home made" by the media. They are, in fact, deadly. Hamas has in its possession longer range Katyushas and Grad-type missiles which can cause devastation such as that on Monday 29 December as one Israeli was killed and 14 injured in a Grad attack on Ashkelon.

  • Israel left Gaza in 2005, giving Palestinians the chance to run their own lives. Despite this, more than 6300 rockets and mortars have been fired into Israel since then.

  • During the past year alone, more than 3000 rockets and mortars have been launched into Israel.

  • Since the end of a formal ceasefire (during which terror attacks continued) with Hamas came to an end on Dec. 19, more than 170 rockets and mortars have been fired at Israeli civilians including a barrage of some 80 missiles on Dec. 24 alone. 

  • As US President-elect Obama stated during a visit to Sderot five months ago, "If somebody was sending rockets into my house where my two daughters sleep at night, I would do everything to stop that, and would expect Israel to do the same thing."

  • No other country in the world would have exercised the amount of restraint that Israel has shown for the past several years without responding.

Read the whole thing.  And, in case someone thinks that this is just pro-Israel point of view, here is what Egyptian Foreign Minister had to say on the subject (thanks to LGF):

This is the proof that there are sane politicians in the Arab world, which in turn gives me hope that ultimately peace is possible.

Powered by Qumana

December 29, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Hi everyone,
    I have tried to find an answer to the ongoing problems we have in the Middle East. It isn’t easy to find a solution.

    Both sides, all sides, seem to be in the wrong most times, to me. If you are a good person in that region, you will be trampled on it seems, because of the past bloodshed that tants the spirit. Still, to me, shouldn’t we try to find a solution?

    Studying this, one thing blares at me, and that is the interpretation of what Zion is now and what it once was, that is, the difference between a homeland and a state. Another problem is that there seems to be millions who feel that they had their lands taken away from them, that they are occupied, and their resistance was met with bloodshed.

    I try to picture myself in their shoes. How would I feel, what would I do? What if it was my daughter, my grandson lying in the street? Would I still be trying to find a common good, or would I become an animal. I think, most likely, the latter…

    I see a lot of hate on this site. Horrible thoughts of evil… If we are going to live in peace shouldn’t we try to find a common ground, our common humanity perhaps, or love in our hearts? I forgivness out of the question? Isn’t it written in our book that he who lives by the sword will die by it? What can you expect when 600+ women and children were killed in Gaza last month alone? What would it take for a young girl to strap bombs to here breasts and kill more innocence. That isn’t the way of a woman. Something horrible must be going on for her to do that. Can’t we stop this?

    Israel, you want peace in the Middle East? Here is what you can do…

    1.) Reinstitute the original term Zionism to mean a Jewish Homeland, and not a Jewish State. Make this emphatically public. Stop using religious taboo to hide behind. Listen to your own Orthodox Jews who so overwhelmingly oppose your tactics. Change your flag to a peace sign, pure white on a field of gold… or perhaps this coexist symbol above?

    2.) Stop Imperialism, and withdraw into your defined borders. Church and State is not the American way. If you want land, buy it, and with your own money. It should be my idea to help you, and I should not be forced if you do not represent my values, or what is good for America.

    3.) Do not use high explosives in densely populated areas. Every time you kill an innocent child or person, you are creating more hate for you, and me, that will last generations.

    4.) Become a True Democracy, where all religions and peoples are recognized and respected, with representation for all. America backs you now and has for fifty years, so why do you wipe your boots on what we stand for?

    5.) Have a proper judicial system patterned on the justice of US and international law. Hear grievances in an open forum, and make it public. Become accountable for your actions. If you don’t want to be held responsible for crimes against humanity, do not commit them. Make the Israel Motto “What goes around comes around,” and perhaps you will see the problem, and how to fix it.

    6.) Stop threats of complete nuclear annihilation of countries, which promote fear and further division. There is nothing to cause more hate and discontent than to make threats against the very existence of a people. You don’t like it, so why do it to others?

    7.) Stop spying and stealing American technology. Quit using the money we give you to lobby our politicians to give you more. It shows you care little or nothing for us Americans who are flipping this bill, as you play us for fools. Stop riding on the back of American taxpayers, and stand on your own two feet.

    8.) Do what is right from this point on and the world would someday forgive you. Make amends by becoming righteous, not only for your mostly secular regime, but for the good, right and liberty of all men… If you are truly a Jewish Homeland, promote and follow the teachings of your G-d, the Ten Commandments, the very basis of the Jewish-Christian laws of your primary friend and benefactor, America.

    9.) Acknowledge that Israel is the birthplace of many religions, and respect that by stopping the wholesale desecration and destruction of meaningful religious sites for the sake of greed, the price of that property. Acknowledge the property that has been stolen, and give it back.

    10.) Love your neighbor as yourself, and leave vengeance to G-d, as he who lives by the sword will die by it. Don’t expect the world, or America, to back you if you are in the wrong. Some of them have a free press and know you by the work you do, recorded and posted. It is coming to light now here again in America, as Truth is again becoming important in spite of your efforts at falsehood. What you do is becoming more and more evident with growing resentment that your negative accountability is in our name. If we are going to go to WW3, we should look closely as to why, and many fingers are pointing to you around the world…

    Comment by Ken LaRive | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Ken,
    Please don’t use my site for your leftist/isolationist/anti-Semitic rants. You have your own site – do it there. If you want to comment on any of my posts, please do. But if you want to write an opinion piece, do it on your own site. If any of my posts are related to what you want to write about, link to it.
    I never banned anyone from my blog. But I will not tolerate anti-Semitic rants. This is the first and last warning.
    Eric.

    Comment by Eric-Odessit | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. Dear Eric,

    I am not anti-Semitic. I am anti-ignorance however, emphatically; I am a Libertarian by nature, raised a Christian, and learned to be a Republican, Conservative, and Situationalist. I have studied ancient religion since I graduated from Loyola University in Communication, and I have traveled with my work, a mud-engineer, for the last 27 years. I don’t take offense that you might possibly call me an anti-Semitic, as I’m sure you have a lot of pain from past experiences. I know that feeling well.

    Eric, I am not responsible for the acts of violence and perversion that has followed the Catholic Church including pedophilia and witch burnings. Though I no longer have faith in Christianity, I must admit that I have attempted to bridge the gap by wearing the Star of David for about eight years. Every attempt to understand and embrace religion has failed, but then, I don’t consider myself a failure, but a winner.

    You are a prolific writer. Writing for me is a passion too. If you think of anything I have written about Zion to be false, I beg you to correct me. I’m not asking you to spend a lot of time on me. You have indeed judged me and labeled me, something like what a Jew may have felt when he was forced to wear the star patch on his shirt and sleeve. What I am trying to do is stop WW3 for my grandchildren and family, and many of them are Jews, with even a cluster of Hindi.

    I saw no ranting in me Eric. Just a patient and loving request to stop the evil that will destroy this world, and this evil is coming from both sides. Can you, as analytical as you are, propose that the Government of Zion is pure?

    Know this: I am not afraid of you or your overt threats, and I think I’m right so much that I have put my real name on this. If I am wrong correct me with the same vein I posted to your specific site, respect.

    To me, I am nothing but a mirror where you can see your true self. If not, correct me.

    With respect and love,I truly am…

    Ken LaRive

    Comment by Ken LaRive | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. Nothing?

    Comment by Ken | June 13, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

